New categories added to the ‘best of chefs’ awards in 2016

The annual Ōra King Awards return in 2016 for a fourth season – and chefs around the country and the world will be sharpening their knives to compete for one of five coveted titles.

Again, there are New Zealand and international citations for both Best Ōra King Ambassador and Best Ōra King Dish. However, due to increased international interest, the organisers have decided to introduce a split between the Best Ōra King Dish Australia and Best Ōra King Dish USA.

The full list of awards is:

  • Best Ōra King Ambassador New Zealand
  • Best Ōra King Ambassador International
  • Best Ōra King Dish New Zealand
  • Best Ōra King Dish Australia
  • Best Ōra King Dish USA

The Ōra King Awards (The Ōra’s) recognise outstanding contributions from chefs working with Ōra King, New Zealand King Salmon’s premium foodservice brand produced exclusively for fine dining restaurants in New Zealand and overseas.

While the ambassador awards are decided solely by Ōra King’s global team, chefs are required to enter the Best Dish awards online at, with the final judging for Best Dish category handed over to industry experts.

During the entry period, diners in NZ can nominate their favourite Ōra King dish via social media. Public nominations can be made via Facebook, Twitter and Instagram by uploading an image of the Ōra King dish with the hashtag #ŌraKingAwards and including the name of the dish, the chef and the restaurant.

Members of the public who nominate a dish using the #ŌraKingAwards hashtag go in a draw to win a $400 dining experience, courtesy of Ōra King salmon.

The short-listed dishes will be judged by respected veteran chef and restaurateur Geoff Scott and food writer, blogger and restaurant reviewer Anna King Shahab.